School Board

2020 Membership of the Jervis Bay School Board



Alasdair Roy

(Board Chair)


(P&C Member)


Board (P&C member)

Jamahl Ardler

(Staff Member)

Luke Marsden

(Staff Member)

Harvey  More

(Community Representative)

School Boards are established under ACT law. Section 39(1) of the Education Act 2004 Act details the functions of a board of a public school:

  • to establish strategic direction and priorities for the school;
  • to monitor and review school performance and to report on it to the Chief Executive, parents of students at the school and staff;
  • to develop, maintain and review curriculum for the school;
  • to develop and review education policies at the school;
  • to establish budgetary policies for the school and approve the school budget;
  • to establish policies for the efficient and effective use of school assets and the management of financial risk;
  • to develop relationships between the school and the community and between the school and community organisations;
  • to make recommendations to the Chief Executive on issues affecting the school and to give effect to the Chief Executive"s directions;
  • to encourage parent participation in their children's learning; and
  • to exercise any other function given to the board under the Act or any other Territory law.

The ACT School Board Manual further elaborates on these points. Members Section 41 of the Act outlines the membership of the School Board. At Ainslie School, our Board is made up of the following people:

  1. the Principal of the school;
  2. a person appointed by the Director General, ACT Education and Training Directorate;
  3. two school staff members elected by the staff;
  4. three parent/carer members elected by parents/carers; and
  5. from time to time the Board can temporarily appoint additional members who serve for no more than twelve months.